SoulEnvision Delivers an ESSENTIAL Modern Soul Mix – Fanatic About Vol. 1

16 01 2011

Last weekend, one of the UK’s premier soul events took place, namely the Luxury Soul Weekender at Blackpool. With live performances from Cool Million, Al Olive, Jean Carne (superb!) and the somewhat eccentric Michael Henderson, the event was a sumptuous feast for modern soul fans. The live acts were complimented by some of the most established tastemakers on the UK modern soul scene, spinning tunes across four rooms including Roger Williams, Ralph Tee, Richard Searling, Bigger, Colin Curtis, Richard Searling, Gary Dennis, Mike Stephens, Mike Vitti and tons of other luminaries. Needless to say, SoulCuts took it to Blackpool somewhat large!

Providing a flavour of the quality of cuts played out over the weekend, friend of SoulCuts, SoulEnvison has dropped this essential mix over at his Soundcloud page, providing a sweet snapshot of some of the best modern soul material of 2010, highlighting a number of the monster cuts dropped at Blackpool. Hit the player for some soulful goodness and check out the tracklisting below.

1. Kindred The Family Soul – You Got Love
2. Eric Benet Feat. Chrisette Michele – Take It
3. El DeBarge – Serenading
4. Donell Jones – The Finer Things In Life
5. Preston Glass/ Keni Burke – Orange You Ready (Cool Million Remix)
6. Victor Haynes – Im Out Of Your Life
7. Jonathan Butler – So Strong
8. Drizabone Soul Family – Slow Luv (Through The Night)
9. Sunshine Anderson – Call My Own
10. Shirley Jones Feat. Jean Carne – Tell Me What’s Wrong (Cool Million Remix)
11. Brian Culbertson Feat. Kenny Lattimore – Another Love
12. El DeBarge Feat. Faith Evans – Lay With You
13. The Gap Band – Outstanding
14. Mary Jane Girls – All Night Long
15. Rahsaan Patterson – Where You Are (Silk’s Old School Remix)

Let us know if you’re feeling this mix, and check out SoulEnvision on Twitter.


SoulCuts Eric Benet Review on!

25 11 2010

I finally managed to knock out a review of the exceptional new Eric Benet album for my friends at

After living with the album for the past few weeks, I firmly believe that Eric and George Nash Jr (his co-producer, co-writer and co-arranger) have delivered a future classic. It’s an impeccable collection of sophisticated soul that demands the attention and hard-earned cash of each and every soul fan. Check my review over at the wonderful

And do let me know your thoughts, either in the comments section, on Twitter, or Facebook.

Wow! What an album! Pop open a couple of tabs to read the review while checking out the album via the stream currently on Essence.

Although there’s no UK release date as such, Simply Soul Mail Order have it on sale at a very reasonable price!